Recent Work: Armour and Robes

January 29, 2012 § Leave a comment

It’s been one of those weeks. You know what I mean – lots to do, not enough time, and severe frost-bite in one’s fingers. My room is cold, and no amount of alcohol or wishful thinking will heat the bugger up. I’m not complaining though, it’s not like I need all my fingers to write or play games.

I will miss my middle one though. Anyway, on to business.

I recently reviewed the very up-and-down tank sim Steel Armor over on GamingDaily.co.uk. A strangely compelling strategy game wrapped around an ugly and lackluster tank simulation with some disturbingly profane voice-overs. Hell, I’m Scottish, and some of it made even me wince, it’s that bad. Still, what would war-torn realism be without some jack-ass muddying the water with swears and profanity?

The Great Escape comes to mind for some reason… Anyway, read my words on Steel Armor here.

 

At the other end of the gaming-scale, I reviewed the mighty Star Wars: The Old Republic on the charming GameTwonk.com, and I have to say, the screen-shots I made were awesome. You just can’t beat a moody hoodie with a pair of laser-swords. SWTOR is a very pretty game at times, and great fun. I just can’t seem to get over how much it tastes like World of Warcraft – they say familiarity breeds contempt, and in this case, this statement has a particular significance.

Not that I dislike World of Warcraft, you understand. I’m simply sick of the sight of it. It was a broken concept when it was released, and nothing has changed, just a plethora of samey MMOs with no concept of individuality other than the occasional “Hey! Our MMO has better graphics!”. The dynamic content of RIFT almost gave it an edge, but it wasn’t nearly enough to take it out from WoW’s already overloaded shadow.

Read my somewhat ambivalent review here. I do like the game, honestly. I just wish they had at least attempted something a little different.

And with that, I shall say farewell. I’m off to find something I can burn for warmth. I think I have a few Dan Brown books left over from last winter around here somewhere…

 

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Recent Work: Armour and Robes at Alt + Enter.

meta

